A Season of Mourning

by Frances Itani


Buy eBook

Frances Itani’s third book of poetry consists of two deeply moving elegiac sequences commemorating the deaths of a sister and friend. In chaste and determinedly unsentimental language, Itani takes us through the crises all must face, ignoring none of their turbulence or anguish, yet leaving us with a renewed sense of humanity. In these two sequences, she accomplishes inspiring acts of homage and remembrance.

A Season of Mourning also features original cover and interior art by well-known Canadian artist Molly Lamb Bobak.


More Reviews


About the Author

Besides her two previous books of poetry (No Other Lodgings, Fiddlehead, 1978 and Rentee Bay, Quarry, 1983), Frances Itani has published a children's book and co-authored a book of short stories. More recently, Frances Itani, a Member of the Order of Canada, had a spectacular international debut with her first novel, Deafening, which received a…

More about Frances Itani

Additional Info

  • ISBN: 0-919626-40-8
  • ISBN-13: 9780919626409
  • Pages: 40
  • Year: 1988
  • Dimensions 6 x 9 in
  • Category:
  • Cover Art:

    Flowers Against the Light #1 by Molly Lamb Bobak

Also from Brick Books