Don McKay is the author of twelve books of poetry, including Long Sault (1975), Lependu (1978), and Apparatus (1997). He has twice won the Governor General’s for Night Field (1991) and Another Gravity (2000), and in June 2007 he won the Griffin Poetry Prize for Strike/Slip (2006). 

Since 1975 he has served as editor and publisher with Brick Books.  He taught creative writing and English literature at the University of Western Ontario and the University of New Brunswick for 27 years before resigning to write and edit poetry full time.  From 1991 to 1996 he edited The Fiddlehead magazine, and he has also served as a faculty resource person at the Sage Hill Writing Experience and The Banff Centre for the Arts, where he currently holds the position of Associate Director, Poetry, Writing & Publishing.   In 2008 he was made a Member of the Order of Canada “for his contributions to Canadian literature as a nature poet and mentor of many emerging writers from coast to coast.”  He lives in St. John’s, Newfoundland.    


Books from Other Publishers

  • Paradoxides
    McClelland & Stewart, 2012
  • The Shell of the Tortoise: Four Essays and an Assemblage
    Gaspereau Press, 2012
  • Leaf to leaf-Foglio a foglia
    McArthur & Company, 2010
  • The Muskwa Assemblage
    Gaspereau Press, 2009
More Books from Other Publishers

Other Brick Authors

Brick Books Newsletter

Stay updated via email!