Frayed Opus for Strings & Wind Instruments

by Ulrikka S. Gernes


Buy eBook

Finalist for the 2016 Griffin Poetry Prize

The English translation of new work from a celebrated Danish poet.

 Frayed Opus for Strings & Wind Instruments is a collection of poems that zooms in and out of places and states of mind, from a lit bicycle shed in the back yard to a root canal in November, from a typhoon in Hong Kong to instincts astray in various Copenhagen neigborhoods. Elegantly translated by Canadian collaborators Per Brask and Patrick Friesen, these dreamlike poems attempt, with honesty and humour, to fathom what it is to inhabit a specifically unspecific point in life—not to mention in the Universe.

                                                 …In my pocket I have
the photo of the house, I have to stop continually, put
the suitcases down, take the photo from my pocket
and compare the house in the photo with the houses
we pass. In this way seventeen years go by.

Praise for the work of Ulrikka S. Gernes

“…airy and abstract, like pinching smoke… risky and intriguing.” —The Antigonish Review


More Reviews


About the Author

Ulrikka S. Gernes was born in 1965 in Sweden of Danish parents. At the age of twenty-two she moved to Copenhagen, Denmark, already a published and highly acclaimed poet. Her first collection, Natsværmer (Moth), was published in Denmark in 1984, when she was eighteen years old. Since then she has published an additional ten collections,…

More about Ulrikka S. Gernes

Additional Info

Also from Brick Books